Wednesday, August 16, 2006

New Planets

Astronomers are proposing a galactic shift of our solar system that could raise the number of planets from nine to 12 and open the way to naming dozens more.

Besides reaffirming the solar system status of Pluto, the IAU draft resolution recognizes 2003 UB313, the farthest-known object in the solar system; Pluto's largest moon, Charon; and the asteroid Ceres, which was a planet in the 1800s before it got demoted.

If the resolution is approved, the 12 planets in our solar system listed in order of their proximity to the sun would be Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Ceres, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, Pluto, Charon, and the temporarily named 2003 UB313.

And by the way. It was the god. Not the dog.



Post a Comment

<< Home